Advice and help

Diabetes organisations
JDRF – the world’s leading type 1 diabetes research charity jdrf.org.uk   
JDRF’s free information packs and resources JDRF information packs and leaflets  
Diabetes UK diabetes.org.uk/helpline 0345 123 2399
Diabetes UK videos and information made by and for young adults with type 1 diabetes https://www.diabetes.org.uk/Guide-to-diabetes/Type-1-Uncut-for-young-adults/  
Diabetes Ireland www.diabetes.ie  
INPUT www.inputdiabetes.org.uk  
     
Other organisations
NHS Choices www.nhs.uk  
Department of Health www.dh.gov.uk  
NICE www.nice.org.uk  
Medic Alert www.medicalert.org.uk 01908 951045
Medi-Tag www.medi-tag.co.uk 0121 200 1616
Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency www.gov.uk/diabetes-driving  
Alcohol Concern www.alcoholconcern.org.uk 0207 9287377
Family Planning Association www.fpa.org.uk  
SMOKEFREE www.nhs.uk/smokefree 0800 022 4332
Giving Up Smoking www.givingupsmoking.co.uk 0800 169 0169
Action on Smoking and Health www.ash.org.uk 0207 739 5902
Fast Forward www.fastforward.org.uk 0131 5544300
National drugs helpline www.talktofrank.com 0800 776600
Childline www.childline.org.uk 0800 1111
Samaritans   0845 7909090
     
Higher education
UCAS – Finding a course https://www.ucas.com/ucas/undergraduate/choosing-course  
UCAS – Disability Student Allowance https://www.ucas.com/ucas/undergraduate/getting-started/individual-needs/students-disabilities  
Disabled Students’ Allowance https://www.gov.uk/disabled-students-allowances-dsas  
England www.gov.uk  
Wales www.studentfinancewales.co.uk  
Northern Ireland www.nidirect.gov.uk  
Scotland www.saas.gov.uk  
     
Studying abroad
Third Year Abroad www.thirdyearabroad.com  
Erasmus www.erasmusplus.org.uk  
GOV UK www.gov.uk  
 
Online forums/advice
Insulin pumpers www.insulin-pumpers.org.uk  
Diabetes support forums www.diabetessupport.co.uk  
Student Health http://www.studenthealth.co.uk/  
DAFNE online community http://www.dafneonline.co.uk/  
Bertie online https://www.bertieonline.org.uk  
Diabetes information www.diabetes.co.uk  
The Mix http://www.themix.org.uk/  
 
Diet
Carbs and Cals www.carbsandcals.com  
Glycaemic index www.glycaemicindex.com  
 
Exercise
Runsweet www.runsweet.com  
 
Emotional health
Depression UK www.depressionuk.org  
Mind www.mind.org.uk  
Youth Forum www.youthhealthtalk.org  
Family Planning www.fpa.org.uk  
Personal Independence payment advice www.gov.uk/pip/overview  
 
Insulin pumps
Advanced Therapeutics (Dana) www.advancedtherapeuticsuk.com  
Animas www.animas.com  
Cellnovo www.cellnovo.com  
Medtronic http://www.medtronic.com/  
Roche (Accu-chek) www.accu-chek.co.uk  
Omnipod www.mylife-diabetescare.co.uk  
 
Insulin companies
Novo Nordisk (Novorapid/Novomix 30/Levemir) 0845 6005055
Lilly (Humalog Mix 25/Mix 50) 01256 315999
Sanofi Aventis (Lantus/Apidra) 0845 6066887
Meter problems
Bayer Contour next 01635 563000
One Touch 0800 121200
Accu-chek 0800 701000
Abbott Freestyle, optimum 0500 467466